My housemate got a new heavy bottomed grill pan that weigh 1,000 kg, (well, not really). It look awesome, so I can’t wait to test the pan. I had 1/2 block of tofu in the fridge, so I decided to make tofu satay. Most recipe required marinating the tofu for at least 2 hrs. I just couldn’t be bothered to marinate, so I just make up the recipe myself. This recipe is so so simple, no marinating required (Life’s too short to marinate anyway). The smell of smoky caramelized kecap manis when I grilled these skewers were divine! The slightly charred bits was the best part of the tofu. On the side, I made some Suhana’s acar timun (pickled cucumber and carrot relish), as this is the ‘proper’ side dish for Indonesian¬† satay.I should’ve left the relish to sit for a few hours in the fridge to let the flavour develop, but, again, no time for that!

ingredients :

  • 250 g firm tofu (half a block), diced ~2cm
  • 2 tbsp kecap manis + 1 tbsp vegeteble oil (you can marinate the tofu in this mixture)
  • thin bamboo skewers

satay sauce :

  • 125 ml coconut milk (1 small can)
  • 3 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp kecap manis
  • 1 tsp soy sauce

heat 1 tbsp oil in a frying pan, stir fry the tofu around 2-3 min or until you sure they can hold their shape on grilling process, set aside to cool in a plate.

meanwhile, heat the grill pan

heat coconut milk and peanut butter in a small pot, mix, add soy sauce and kecap manis, stir thoroughly until slightly thicken and glossy, turn off the heat, add the sesame oil, taste ~yummm~ (try to resist the urge to eat them while waiting for the grilled tofu!)

thread the tofu cubes to the skewer 3-4 cubes per skewer, (I cut the skewer in half to fit the grill pan), brush the tofu skewers with kecap manis + veg oil mixture, and grill them, cook one side for 1 – 2 min, brush with some more sauce while grilling.

grill until the kecap manis caramelized and slightly charred.

serve with stemed jasmine rice and the relish.

drizzle,- or blob- (if the sauce is really thick) the satay sauce on top of the skewers.

