I went to hispanic festival at Johnston street a few weeks ago, and sampled this corn pancake for the first time. I took a photo of them with my phone, but for some reason, it didn’t saved, so I couldn’t blog about it, as photo says a thousand words. They seemed to be fairly simple to make, so I googled the recipe. The pupusa itself  only has a short list of ingredients, masa harina (cornmeal), warm water and fillings. I bought the cornmeal dough at Casa Iberica (25 Johnston street fitzroy) for $5, I got 1 kg of cornmeal flour. (I need to figure out what to do with the res of them!).I stuffed the pupusas with refried beans (old el paso refried beans), and some  grated mozzarela cheese. I served them with simple salsa-ish salad (tomato, cucumber, and capsicum) and guacamole (mashed up 1/2 avocado with 2 tbsp light sour cream, and lemon juice). The pupusas were chewy, tasted kinda like tortila, very filling, and when I fried them, my house suddenly smelled like trippy taco. 🙂  Contrary to my blog title, the dish doesn’t taste better the next day, they best served immediately, when the cheese still melting and oozing from the pupusas.

Ingredients :

  • 2 cups masa harina
  • 1 1/2 cups warm water (I used more than this amount-add water slowly, and adjust accordingly)
  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 cup grated mozzarela cheese
  1. In a large bowl, mix  masa harina and water, knead well. Knead  to make a moist, yet firm dough. (It should not crack at the edges when you press down on it.) Cover and set aside to rest for 5 to 10 minutes. (I skipped this)
  2. Roll the dough into a log and cut it into 8 equal portions. Roll each portion into a ball. Make a small bowl  shape from the balls, and put about 1 tablespoon of refried beans and cheese, and fold the dough over. Press the ball out with your palms to form a disc, taking care that that the filling doesn’t spill out.
  3. Coat a skillet with 1 tsp oil, heat on medium-high flame. Cook each pupusa for about 1-2 minutes on each side, until lightly browned and blistered, or until the cheese melted.
