These soy bombs were awesomely delicious..! they were not bland at all, (which I thought thy would be), they surprisingly hold their shapes together while cooking, it is worth the effort. I’ve got the recipe from Cindy – where’s the beef? , and she got it from post punk kitchen, which they got it from..somewhere else.., well anyway, considering the long thread of comments, I decided to try this bombs. I actually made them twice this week.  My first attempt, some of them didn’t hold together, I think it was because I didn’t chop the onion properly.  We had them with spaghetti and tomato sauce. I changed the recipe a little bit, instead of peanut butter, I used free nut butter (sunflower seeds butter), I used 2 tbsp of soy sauce, and I leave out the basil leaves, just because I didn’t have any.

Two days later, I made the second batch. This time, I chopped the onion super finely, crumbled , and mix the tofu by hands, so the free nut butter mixed evenly. I served them with couscous, and grilled capsicum. I personally like them better with the couscous. Here’s the recipe for the smoked paprika couscous :

ingredients :

  • 1  1/2  cups couscous
  • 1  3/4 cup vegetable stock / water
  • 2 cups cauliflower, chopped, very small
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 red capsicum, halved
  • 1 green capsicum, halved

spices : (mix in small bowl)

  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • salt and pepper to taste

preheat the oven griller, lined a baking tray with tin foil, put the capsicum, cut side down, and grill until they charred, placed in glass bowl, cover, and let cool.

meanwhile stir fry the onion, cauliflower, and carrots until the cauliflower bits caramelized, add the spices, stir until all the vegies well coated, and fragrant.

add couscous, mix with the vegies, and add the stock / water (be careful, the couscous might splatter), cover, remove from heat, and let sit for 3 minutes.

remove the skin from the capsicum under running water, and sliced the capsicum lengthways.

fluff the couscous, stir in the grilled capsicum, transfer to plate or bowl, serve with soy bombs.

 

 

