banana and mixed berries smoothie(please ignore the mess and the overloaded book shelf behind them..)

I recently bought a tub of 500 g protein powder from the clinic, just to experiment with myself, and just to know how it tastes. Just in case, if i prescribed to my patients in the future, and they asked how does it tastes like, I can give them a real answer. Anyway, as soon as I got it, I mixed it with cold water, gave it a strong stir, they just DIDN’T mix evenly. I still found some lumps after stirring for a few minutes. So I thought, oh.., how bad could it be? and took a sip. mmmm….yuuu..ck..!!!! this is NOT the taste of “smooth vanilla” (as the label says), it was really thick, lumpy, and milky rich (not in a good way for me, cause I hate the taste of cow’s milk). So then I added some ice cubes, just to make it icy cold, and thus, numb my tastebuds.

The next day, I bought some bananas, frozen berries, and soy milk to turn the yuck powder into yum powder. I peeled and froze the bananas as well. Guess what, IT WAS AWESOME..!! yaay.. 🙂 the banana takes over the flavour,  and the berries give the smoothie it’s freshness.

ingredients : (2 tall glass)

  • 4 tbsp protein powder (I used whey, but soy, rice, or pea protein powder with neutral flavour will work as well, or, 1/2 block of silken tofu will give a boost of protein)
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 handfull frozen mixed berries
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3-4 small – ish  ice cubes

put all the ingredients in a blender, and blitz until smooth.

transfer into 2 tall glass.

 

