29-10-09_1446

Don Don, 321 Swanston St Melbourne VIC 3000 – (03) 9662 3377

Today was a really warm and humid day, felt like summer is coming to Melbourne 🙂  After finished my clinic class, I felt like something cold and fresh, and quick.. cause I was starved to death… I was meant to eat at CJs lunch takeaway @ hardware lane (the laneway that runs between Lt Lonsdale and Lonsdale St), but unfortunately, they didn’t serve lunch special after 2.30 pm. So I decided to head to Dondon. They don’t have a long list of menu, but they always packed, esecially during lunch hours. The service was really fast.. I mean REALLY FAST!! I’ve got my food before I’ve even finish collecting my change!

I ordered a bowl of soba salad (I think it was $7.20 or 7.40?). Although they call it salad, it was pretty much a meal for me. The soba served with tofu, inari (sweet tofu), seaweed, mixed leaves, and some vegies (broccoli and tomato), and strangely, I’ve got a tiny piece of watermelon as well. The soba were served with sesame oil and soy sauce cold dressing (In the picture, you won’t be able to see the soba, it was covered with mountain of vegies). It was a perfect lunch for summer-y day. I wish I get more of the miso paste smeared on top of the tofu though. But, overall, it was a nice, quick, and cheap lunch.

Oh yeah, beware of the pigeons if you’re sitting outside, they won’t hesitate attacking your meal. The girl who sat next to me was a victim.

 

