soba salad

I don’t have a specific measurement for this recipe, this is sort of a -last minute-use what in the cupboard -type of recipe. I packed this for lunch today so I don’t have buy take outs. Soba noodles usually packed in three individual serves, in this recipe, I used 1 serve of noodle. I served it with leftover standard stir fry vegies from dinner. You can tell it’s a leftover from the colour of the broccoli, they look a bit overcooked and tired, and already lost it’s vibrant green colour 🙂

Ingredients :

  • 1 serve soba noodles
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
  • Japanese red chilli powder  (nanami togarashi)
  • 2 tbsp water to thin out the dressing

cook soba for 3 min. or according to the package instruction, drain, and rinse with cold water. if you have time, it will be better to chill the noodle in the fridge to stop the cooking process or to dump the noodle in iced water. Overcooked noodle will clumps and mushy. (I got this tip from my husband, he’s working in a fast food Japanese restaurant).

mix the dressing ingredient until smooth, taste, and add some more if you feel like it.

drizzle the dressing to the noodle, mix, and sprinkle a little chilli powder (optional)

I imagine this dressing will be better with grated ginger, but I was in a rush, and didn’t really have time to grate a ginger (yet, I still have time to take picture of the noodle..).

