This dessert was inspired by peach and almond galettes from Coles magazine summer edition. I replaced the peach with nectarines, and couldn’t be bother to cut the pastry into circles.  I didn’t actually plan to make the banana ice cream, but after I pulled the tarts out of the oven, they looked desperately needs some companion of something cold or creamy. Having just finished 2 lt of ice cream the previous week, I tried to find a healthier replacement other than yoghurt. Then, I remember that I bought a bag of over ripe bananas (1 BIG bag for $1.90!!), and froze most of them. And I thought, hmmm,  I came accross a simple banana ice cream recipe on vegan family vs omni world, stonesoup, and a few weeks later on where’s the beef? . I don’t know why it took me ages to make this ice cream, despite all the reviews, maybe I was being too skeptical. It was really easy to prepare, so sooooooo good, and because all the bananas were already over ripe, I didn’t need to add more sugar to sweeten it. Give it a go, highly recommended if you crave for something sweet.

ingredients :

  • 1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed
  • 1 large nectarine
  • 2 tbsp butter / margarine
  • 2 tbsp almond meal / flake almonds
  • 1 tbsp + 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 cup frozen banana
  • preheat the oven 200 c or 180 c fan forced

sliced the nectarine about 1/2 cm thick wedges

in a food processor, blend almond meal (or any nuts you have in hand), 1 tbsp brown sugar, and butter until the consistency resemble a paste

slice the puff pastry sheet in half, cut the pastry into 2 quarters and place on greased baking tray

spread the butter-almond mix on the pastry, arrange the nectarine wedges on top of it

sprinkle with the remaining of the sugar, bake for 20 min or until the pastry puffed up, and turn golden

while waiting for the tarts to cool of, whizz frozen banana in a food processor, if its too dry, add 1 tbsp of water / soy milk, blend until smooth and creamy

(2 Serves)

