Call me crazy, but on a very hot and humid day in Melbourne, I craved a hot Indonesian or Malaysian style curry. Maybe because the hot and humid weather represents my homeland? So, I googled some recipes, and decided to settle with this curry recipe. It looks easy, doesn’t have a long list of ingredients, and the chicken can be easily replaced withtofu or tempe. The only problem was to find the same or similar curry powder they strongly suggested. With my fingers crossed tightly, I went to minh phat victoria market the next morning, and found it for a real bargain $2.30 a bag..! yaaayyy..!

I obviuosly replaced the chicken with fried bean curd, add some carrots to make it sound healthier, and cut the amount of oil, onion and garlic (come on, 2 large onion and 8 cloves of garlic!! you must be kidding..!!). I’m going to rewrite the recipe here, because I made quite a bit of changes.

The result? The fried bean curd acts like a sponge and soak up the creamy hot sauce really well. I personally like the texture of spongy and chewy bean curds, I don’t think I will get the same result with regular hard tofu. The sauce was thick, creamy and hot, not for the faint hearted. It really satisfied my craving though. :) Next time, I would probably serve it with some roti. I heat some of the leftover for lunch the next day, and it tasted so much better. So far, this is my favourite malaysian hot curry recipe.

Ingredients :

  • 4 cubes fried tofu / bean curds, sliced
  • 3 small potatoes, diced
  • 1 large carrot
  • 4 tbsp Malaysian curry powder + 2-3 tbsp water, mix into a paste
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 handful chopped coriander
  • 250 ml coconut milk
  • 1.5 cups of water

in a food processor, blend :

  • 1 small onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 red chili (you can omit this if you don’t like spicy food)

boil the potato and the carrot to speed up the cooking process, because there is nothing more annoying than waiting for the potato to cook, while the other ingredients in the pot already done, even the rice.

heat oil, and stir fry onion mixture about 3 minutes, or until fragrant.

add curry powder, reduce the heat to low, stir fry until the oil started oozing out from it. (I didn’t bother, but it still turned out ok)

add the sliced tofu and vegies, stir to coat them with the curry paste.

add coconut milk, seasoned with salt and pepper, bring to a boil and reduce the heat, cover and simmer about 10 minutes.

stir occasionally, add some water until you satisfied with the consistency.

laddle to serving bowl, top with chopped coriander and serve with rice or roti.

