I’ve bookmarked this recipe from Cindy’s where’s the beef? ages ago, but only today I got a chance to tried it out. They are really easy to prepare, no chopping required, but tasted soooo yum.. changed the recipe a bit, I used crumbled walnut instead of pecans. Just because they’re on special, and already crumbled, so no further chopping required ($1.79!). I also add worcestershire about 1 tbsp, other than that, the recipe is perfect as it is. Cindy also made the vegan version of it, and they look as good as the vegetarian one.

I served the rolls with some crunchy salad on the side (it came from a bag, straight out of supermarket), and watermelon and feta salad. We’re currently in love with this salad, we probably had at least 3 times this week, its perfect for a hot summer day. sweet, salty, cool, and minty. Even though it’s technically a salad, but we treated it as a dessert, we ate it after our meal.

ingredients :

  • half a wedge of watermelon (about 500g)
  • 100 g crumbled feta cheese (the saltier, the better, more contrast)
  • a handful mint leaves, chopped

dressing :

  • 1 tbsp lemon / lime juice
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

diced the watermelon 2×2 cm, top with feta, mint leaves, drizzle the dressing over the salad, and mix.

most recipe I found add chopped red onion, but I just don’t like the taste of raw onion.

